Your Subtitle text

CDL Self Certification

COLUMBUS – Beginning January 30, 2012, new federal regulations require ALL Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders to self-certify their type of commercial driving. This will be done at the time of issuance or renewal of the CDL. The Ohio BMV will not begin accepting the self-certification forms until January 30, 2012.

Failing to Self-Certify by completing the required BMV 2159 and/or submitting the required Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MECERT) by January 30, 2014 will cause a cancellation of commercial driving privileges and prevent the issuance of a CDL until compliant.

All CDL holders MUST Self-Certify to one of four categories:

  • Category : Non-Excepted INTERSTATE (across state lines) (Driver must submit completed MECERT)
  • Category 2: Excepted INTERSTATE (across state lines)
  • Category 3: Non-Excepted INTRASTATE (exclusively within Ohio)
  • Category 4: Excepted INTRASTATE (exclusively within Ohio)
For a list of Frequently Asked Questions please visit: 

For the required form (if you have not gotten one) please visit:

CDL Self-Certification Authorization, Self Certify CDL
Website Builder